MPM107 Article Reflection

24 Oct

Virtual worlds are an important space that has been created. People use these virtual spaces for all sorts of reasons. The article “ “ discussed many different aspects of virtual worlds, but focusing on the difference it made before and after going into one of the spaces.

            One points the article made was that people base their expectations of something like a virtual world in two ways, by “having had previous experience with the media product or something

similar, or having acquired information about the media product from another source.” (Dervin 41) I found this to be an important aspect of the article to me because I had a specific idea of what I thought virtual worlds were. Most of my ideas were influenced by what I gathered through media, from television, movies, and books. Personally I though virtual worlds were a place for people to go to play games as a character they created. These expectations of what I thought a virtual world was, is what made me not want to further investigate what a virtual world was. When reading this article, I decided to take a better look at a virtual world, and I was shown that my expectations were not only met, but they were exceeded. I think that virtual worlds, whichever type they are, are way more than what is shown in the media. The media usually portrays gamer using virtual worlds but they are really meant for anyone and everyone, and there are virtual spaces for everyone. I think it is important to focus on the expectations of virtual worlds because they are mis-understood by many people because of media. I think that if people were to actually use virtual worlds, it may exceed their expectations because it gives them a place to be themselves, and many times do things they may not be able to do in real life.

            I think that overall, virtual worlds are a great place for anyone to check out because they may be something that you did not expect, or something you were mislead about. The article discusses many other aspects of virtual worlds, in depth, so if you are interested in this topic please check out this link:

Works Cited

Dervin, CarrieLynn D. Reinhard and Brenda. “Comparing situated sense-making processes in virtual worlds: Application of Dervin’s Sense Making Mathodology to media reception situations.” Convergence 18.1 (2011): 27-48.

Leave a Reply

